Neven Maguire receives Avonmore Cookbook of the Year Award

27 November 2014 Neven Maguire, Brian O’ Driscoll, Graham Norton, Cecelia Ahern and Majella O’ Donnell were some of the winners named at the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2014 held in Dublin last night. Neven received the prestigious Avonmore Cookbook of the Year Award for his latest recipe book ‘The Nation’s Favourite Food FAST!’

“I am thrilled and very proud to have received this award! Thanks so much for the hard work and dedication of Gill and MacMillan and all the team who worked on this book. We had a fantastic evening at the awards ceremony which was a real celebration of Irish writing” said Neven Maguire of MacNean House & Restaurant and the Neven Maguire Cookery School.

Celebrating the best Irish writing of 2014, the star-studded awards ceremony took place in the Dublin’s Double Tree Hilton and was attended by Roddy Doyle, Damien Dempsey, Anthony ‘Dalo’ Daly, Rachel and Isaac Allen, Majella and Daniel O’ Donnell, Paul Galvin and Louise Duffy, actor and writer Eoin Macken, David and Stephen Flynn aka the Happy Pear twins, Susan Jane White, John Kelly, Donal Ryan and Kevin Dundon.

The event was hosted by RTE’s Keelin Shanley and awards were presented by John Murray from RTE Radio 1, TV presenters Sinead Desmond and Brendan O’ Connor, along with children’s writer Eoin Colfer. After Neven received his award he, and the other winners, were interviewed by RTE’s Evelyn O’ Rourke in the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards ‘Green Room’. These interviews, along with highlights from the awards ceremony, will be aired on RTE Television on the evening of Saturday 29 November.

Chairman of the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards, John Treacy, said: “These fantastic award winners represent the very best Irish books published this year. They reflect a highly vibrant and creative community and are a wonderful example of Irish writing and publishing at its very best. All winning titles will also make extremely rewarding gifts this Christmas! To task now is to identify which of these winning titles will be crowned the ‘Bord Gáis Energy Book of the Year’. The public are asked to vote for their favourite by going to and we will announce the deserving winner on the 5th December.”

David Kirwan, Managing Director at Bord Gáis Energy, commented: “In the five years that we have been the sponsor of the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards, it’s been fantastic to see it going from strength to strength and now it forms a significant part of the Irish literary calendar. These awards celebrate and promote the indigenous jewel that is Irish writing and I’d like to congratulate all the winners and wish them continued success.”

For further information, please log on to the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards website